Believe it or not, homework gave me a happy today.  If you had asked me as a teenager if homework made me happy I would have looked at you very strangely but yes, today homework gave me a happy.
Boyo is back at school tomorrow after the Christmas holidays so we went over his reading book and looked at what we needed to do to finish up his homework.  He needed to think about what he had done in the holidays so he can talk about them at school.  So we sat looking through all the photos I had taken and he picked ones to talk about. 
Turns out his happy photos were of family activities such as visiting reindeer together.  His happiest photo was actually of doing the Christmas tree with Daddy. He was so happy just remembering it that he was wriggling with pleasure.  This Christmas has been magical to him and seeing him so happy made me feel happy too.
It was a truly happy Christmas and all it took was some firm handling of my family and a determination that it be happy.  Simple? No. But very, very worth it.

image