Standing in the cold, it was hard to imagine feeling happy but I was.  Boyo walked with his classmates around the school playground sporting his Easter Hat with a smile.  Boyo was quickly overwhelmed by the amount of people but he just came to me and asked to be held.  We often have this happen when we attend school functions because he knows I can calm him.  The great thing is that the staff let him do it.  We have told them we are ok with it and they are happy to let Alex find a calm haven with us.  When he got too boisterous, I gently stroked his back which I’ve recently discovered calms him down.  He leaned into me for the comfort and was able to tolerate 15minutes surrounded by the whole school and all the parents of the school.  There were no meltdowns or flaps that show he is distressed, we are learning together how to keep him calm and I love the difference it is making for him.

Speaking of calming things, I sat and practiced my Hand Lettering while waiting for the Ks to get home.  I sat in the quiet and wrote my favourite fancy writing out.  I experimented with different ways of forming the letters and I’m really pleased with the outcome. 

image

My toughest challenge is accepting that mistakes are ok.  I have a few things I want to work on but I felt so relaxed afterwards.  I felt totally at ease and capable of dealing with the kids.  That feeling stayed with me all evening.  I could get used to that!

Happiness is… A new relaxing hobby.